Top 10 Children’s Books

I love teaching kids to read! When I was little math mystified me; it was a huge embarrassment for me. But in reading group I was put in with kids two or three grades ahead of me. I think the reason I have and had such a love for reading was because of my wonderful mom. We read together every single day. I read every single book in the Magic Tree House, Junnie B. Jones, and Dear America series. When I was in third grade my favorite elementary school teacher introduced me to Harry Potter. Harry Potter is my comfort go to book. When I started nannying  my two babies were learning to read. I loved watching them transform from barely knowing their letters to them asking to go to the library. It is so important that we tell our kids how smart they are and what hard workers they are as they learn to read. We definitely had good and bad days when it came to homework. But if we can teach our kids to love learning and specifically to love reading they will be much happier throughout their entire lives. My girl’s top ten (not in order) favorite children’s books are:

10. A Bad Case of The Stripes by David Shannon:

The girls would ask me to read them everyday for about three months so I finally hid it. But it is VERY cute and has a great message of being comfortable in your own skin.

Jodie recommends A Bad Case of Stripes by David Shannon

 

9. The Pigeon Finds a Hot Dog! by Mo Willems

Mo Willems is one of my top five favorite children’s authors.

“Each morsel is a joy! A celebration in a bun.” The kids laughed so hard the snorted while we read this book!

 

8. Jungle Bullies by Steven Kroll

I love this because it teaches kids how to respond in a positive way when their friends or kids at school bully them. I think this is a book every parent should read and talk about with their kids.

7. You Are Special by Max Lucado

I love the message in this book and even though the younger girls might not have understood it they still liked to talk about the importance of being nice and giving each other ‘stickers’. We also love Punchinello and The Most Marvelous Gift, The Crippled Lamb, Best of All, Because I Love You, and A Hat for Ivan by Max Lucado.

6. Moose’s Loose Tooth by Jacqueline A Clarke

This is a perfect book for kindergartners who are starting to loose teeth! It is silly and witty and they love all the exotic animals in the story.

5. Hilda Must Be Dancing by Karma Wilson

A story about a dancing hippo who is making too much noise. I love books that teach kids to come up with creative solutions to their problems.

4. Hooway for Wodney Wat by Helen Lester

A book that children with speech impediments can read perfectly!

Wodney Wat is teased for his speech until one day he becomes the class hero.

3.  Quick as a Cricket by Audrey Wood

My girls loved when I would quote this book for them! I would tell them, “I need you to be as quick as a cricket!” and they would scurry as fast as they could.

2. Mr. Brown Can Moo, Can You? by Dr. Seuss

This is another silly book that kids LOVE!

 

1.Guess How Much I Love You by Sam McBatney

Every child should be told multiple times a day how wonderful they are and how much their family loves them. You can find lesson plans centered on this for a family night activity.

Guess How Much I Love You!?

